Zur Haupt-Navigation Direkt zum Inhalt

Sustainability, the new investment standard

OLZ Newsletter 02/2018

Sustainability is in the process of changing from being a niche topic to the new standard for institutional investors. The sixth OLZ Smart Investing Day 2018 indicated how environmental, social and governance (ESG) criteria can be integrated in the investment process without loss on return.

From an alternative angle into the focus of pension funds and insurance companies: Sustainability is becoming the new investment standard for institu-tional investors. Many private investors also prefer to invest in companies, which assume ecological and social responsibility. However, integrating ESG-criteria in the investment process is not quite so trivial. How do we implement sustainability effectively? Which environmental, social and gov-ernance (ESG) criteria do we ap-ply and how strictly? In addition, there is the question of return worrying foundation boards and pension funds. After all, there is empirical evidence that so-called “sin stocks” belonging to companies in socially controversial areas, such as the weapon, alcohol or tobacco industry, are regularly more profitable than the market index. Is sustainability therefore at the expense of return? This is something that hardly any pension funds can afford, faced with low interest rates.

The sixth Smart Investing Day on 24 January in Bern offered a platform for the exchange of experience and information between institution-al investors and academia, which was also ac-tively used in 2018. Sabine Döbeli (CEO, Swiss Sustainable Finance) staked out the topic in her opening presentation: What is meant by sustain-able investment? What are the possibilities for implementation? Where is the trend leading to? Pius Zgraggen (Founding Partner and CEO, OLZ) showed how sus-tainability has been integrated in OLZ’s investment process without a loss on return. The event was moderated by Kaspar Hohler (Editor-in-chief, Swiss Pension Fund).

Institutional assets as growth drivers

Sabine Döbeli is convinced that sustainable investment is more than a new fashion trend in the finance industry. It was not triggered by banks offering high returns, but influenced by environ-mental organisations, the media and the public. In several European countries, changes in regulations also played a role. In Switzerland the sharp in-crease in sustainable investments is attributed to institutional investors: a total of CHF 266 billion is invested sustainably (status 2016). Switzerland has, however, not taken a pioneer role and decided to pursue a voluntary approach, as opposed to France and Great Britain. The transition to sustainability is also appreciated by the pension funds. According to a survey, they would even be prepared to sacrify returns for sustainability. “They lack the platform to exert influence”, Döbeli however declared.

Improving risk-return efficiency

It is therefore the pension funds duty to act. According to Sabine Döbeli, it is not sufficient for them to simply make a few sustainable investments, or to remove the most disreputable stocks from their portfolio. “The Foundation Board needs to hold a fundamental discussion on values, motivation and targets”. For Döbeli it is natural that the re-turns and not ethical considerations are of primary importance to those responsible for the pension funds: “After all, that is their duty”. To avoid the transition to sustainability resulting in a loss on return, the ESG criteria must be integrated in the financial analysis and portfolio management from the start. This leads to better results than specify-ing exclusion criteria, but it is also more challenging.

“Integrated approaches do not compromise perfor-mance. They may even improve the risk-performance profile”, says Döbeli. For the implementation it is not necessary to carry out everything yourself: “You can also pass the ball to consultants and asset managers.” There is a good solution for (nearly) all investment categories.

ESG and Minimum Variance: The Perfect Match

Since the end of 2017 all OLZ funds are sustainable – and their performance is none the worse (see OLZ Research Note “Minimum Variance – a harmonious relationship”, January 2018). This transition is the result of three years of research and development work. For OLZ it was clear that any “fig leaf” solution was out of the question, i. e. not to create another single sustainable fund: “We wanted to fully integrate the ESG criteria into our risk-based investment process, without diluting it”, said Pius Zgraggen. For this reason, OLZ does not only consider exclusion criteria, but also applies ESG criteria as part of their portfolio optimisation. 

With perfect timing a new study has been pub-lished explaining the mystery as to why “sin stocks”, which appear to embody the opposite of social sustainability, reach above average performance: Not because they “sin”, but because they belong to particularly profitable companies, which show a stable cash flow and low debts – all characteristics which also apply to low volatility stocks. Pius Zgraggen explains: “The same results can be achieved by combining ESG criteria and low volatility”. Sustainability can therefore be realised particularly well with a risk-based approach like OLZ Minumum Variance: neither does it result in a lower return, nor does it dilute the investment approach: Companies with equity prices fluctuating lower than the market are often prudently managed. In short: Minimum variance and sustainability har-monise best. Pius Zgraggen is fully aware: “Finding the perfect match also requires a bit of luck”.  

Zum Footer Zur Startseite

Nachhaltigkeit wird zum neuen Anlagestandard

OLZ Newsletter 02/2018

Nachhaltigkeit mausert sich gerade vom Nischenthema zum neuen Standard für institutionelle Anleger. Der sechste OLZ Smart Investing Day 2018 zeigte auf, wie Nachhaltigkeitskriterien (engl. ESG für Environmental, Social und Governance) ohne Renditeeinbusse in den Anlageprozess integriert werden können.

Aus der alternativen Ecke in den Fokus der Pensionskassen und Versicherungen: Von institutionellen Anlegern wird zunehmend verlangt, dass sie Nachhaltigkeitskriterien in ihren Anlageprozess miteinbeziehen. Auch viele Privatanlegerinnen und -anleger investieren lieber in Firmen, die ökologisch und sozial Verantwortung übernehmen. Nachhaltig Anlegen ist allerdings nicht ganz trivial und wirft viele neue Fragen auf: Wie setzen wir Nachhaltigkeit effektiv um? Welche ESG-Kriterien (engl. für Environmental, Social and Governance) wenden wir an – und wie streng? Hinzu kommt die Renditefrage, welche Stiftungsräte von Pensionskassen umtreibt: Empirisch ist schliesslich erwiesen, dass sogenannte «Sin Stocks» von Firmen, die in gesellschaftlich kontroversen Branchen wie in der Waffenindustrie oder in der Alkohol- und Tabakherstellung tätig sind, regelmässig rentabler sind als der Marktindex. Geht Nachhaltigkeit also auf Kosten der Rendite? Etwas, das sich die wenigsten Pensionskassen angesichts der tiefen Zinsen leisten könnten.​

Der 6. OLZ Smart Investing Day am 24. Januar in Bern bot eine Plattform für den Erfahrungs- und Informationsaustausch zwischen institutionellen Anlegern und der Finanzwissenschaft, die auch 2018 rege genutzt wurde. Sabine Döbeli (CEO, Swiss Sustainable Finance) steckte in ihrem Eröffnungsreferat das Thema ab: Was bedeutet nachhaltiges Anlegen? Welche Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten gibt es? Und wohin führt der Trend? Pius Zgraggen (Gründungspartner und CEO, OLZ) zeigte auf, wie Nachhaltigkeit ohne Renditeeinbusse in den Anlageprozess von OLZ integriert wird. Moderiert wurde die Veranstaltung von Kaspar Hohler (Chefredaktor, Schweizer Personalvorsorge).

Institutionelle Vermögen als Wachstumstreiber

Sabine Döbeli ist überzeugt, dass nachhaltiges Anlegen mehr ist als eine neue Modeerscheinung der Finanzindustrie. Nicht hohe Renditeversprechen von Banken lösten den Trend aus, sondern der Einfluss von Umweltorganisationen, Medien und Öffentlichkeit. In mehreren europäischen Ländern spielten auch Änderungen in der Regulierung eine Rolle. In der Schweiz geht der starke Zuwachs in nachhaltige Anlagen vor allem auf das Konto der institutionellen Investoren, insgesamt werden 266 Mrd. CHF nachhaltig angelegt (Stand 2016). Dennoch nimmt die Schweiz keine Pionierrolle ein, auch weil sie, anders als etwa Frankreich oder Grossbritannien, auf den freiwilligen Weg setzt. Begrüsst wird die Umstellung auf Nachhaltigkeit auch von den Begünstigten der Pensionskassen. Diese wären gemäss einer Umfrage sogar bereit, dafür eine Renditeeinbusse in Kauf zu nehmen. «Ihnen fehlt das Sprachrohr, um aktiv Einfluss zu nehmen» stellt Döbeli jedoch fest.

Verbesserung der Risiko-Rendite-Effizienz

Der Ball liegt also bei den Vorsorgeeinrichtungen. Gemäss Sabine Döbeli genügt es nicht, wenn sich diese ein grünes Kleid – sprich ein paar nachhaltige Anlagen – zulegen, oder besonders anrüchige Titel aus dem Portfolio ausschliessen. «Der Stiftungsrat kommt um eine grundsätzliche Diskussion über die Werte, Motivation und Ziele nicht herum». Dass für die PK-Verantwortlichen primär die Rendite – und nicht ethische Überlegungen – im Zentrum stehen, ist für Döbeli selbstverständlich: «Das ist schliesslich ihre Aufgabe». Damit die Umstellung auf Nachhaltigkeit nicht zu einer Renditeeinbusse führt, sollten die ESG-Kriterien von Beginn an in die Finanzanalyse und das Portfoliomanagement integriert werden. Das führt zu einem besseren Resultat als reine Ausschlusskriterien festzulegen, ist aber auch anspruchsvoller. «Integrierte Ansätze gehen nicht zulasten der Performance. Sie können das Risiko-Ertrag-Profil sogar verbessern», sagt Döbeli. Bei der Umsetzung sei es nicht nötig, alles selber zu machen: «Sie können den Ball auch weitergeben an Consultants und Asset Manager.» Es gebe für (fast) alle Anlagekategorien gute Lösungen.

ESG und Minimum Varianz: Traumpaar gefunden

Seit Ende 2017 sind alle OLZ Fonds nachhaltig – und sie rentieren deshalb nicht schlechter (vgl. OLZ Research Note «Minimum Varianz – eine harmonische Beziehung», Januar 2018). Dieser Umstellung gingen drei Jahre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit voran. Wobei für OLZ klar war, dass keine «Feigenblattlösung» in Frage kommt, also nicht einen einzelnen nachhaltigen Fonds aufzulegen: «Wir wollen die ESG-Kriterien fest in unseren risikobasierten Anlageprozess integrieren, ohne ihn zu verwässern», sagt Pius Zgraggen. Deshalb berücksichtigt OLZ nicht nur Ausschlusskriterien, sondern wendet ESG-Kriterien auch im Rahmen der Portfoliooptimierung an.

Genau zum richtigen Zeitpunkt erschien eine neue Studie, welche ein Mysterium klärt: Warum die «Sin Stocks», die so etwa das Gegenteil von gesellschaftlicher Nachhaltigkeit verkörpern, eine überdurchschnittliche Performance erzielen: Nicht, weil sie «sündigen», sondern weil es sich um besonders profitable Firmen handelt, die einen stabilen Cash-Flow und eine tiefe Verschuldung ausweisen – alles Eigenschaften, welche auch für Low-Volatility-Titel gelten. Pius Zgraggen erklärt: «Das gleiche Resultat lässt sich erzielen, wenn man ESG-Kriterien und Low Volatility kombiniert». Nachhaltigkeit lässt sich deshalb besonders gut mit einem risikobasierten Anlageansatz wie OLZ Minimum Varianz umsetzen: Weder führt es zu einer Renditeeinbusse, noch verwässert sich dadurch der Anlageansatz: Firmen, deren Aktienpreise geringer schwanken als der Markt, sind häufig auch umsichtig geführt. Kurzum: Minimum Varianz und Nachhaltigkeit harmonisieren bestens zusammen. Pius Zgraggen ist sich bewusst: «Wo immer ein Traumpaar sich findet – eine Portion Glück gehört auch dazu».