Zur Haupt-Navigation Direkt zum Inhalt

Bonds in defense, stocks in attack

Reading time 10 minutes

An end to negative interest rates is not in sight. It is therefore all the more important that your portfolio is well positioned and that you make full use of your risk budget.

The interest is the reward for not buying new fancy shoes today. They teach that in high school. But why should I save money when I can only afford sandals the day after tomorrow because of the negative interest rate? Because, unfortunately, the pension funds are also suffering from the negative interest rates, in addition to demographics and the reform backlog, you should take care of your pension provision despite the negative incentive to save, by setting up an extra-mandatory 1e pension plan or a third pillar.

No return without risk

The fact is: negative interest rates preclude a risk-free return. Even the pure maintenance of value costs money. Even 3a account solutions only generate an average of 0.275% interest. You won't get far with that. You can achieve a significantly higher long-term return by investing more in equities. But that in turn involves risks. The first thing you need to do is determine how much risk - i.e. fluctuations in value - you can or want to take. This is your personal risk budget. You should never exceed this, but always make full use of it.

No risk without return

Now it seems obvious to dispense with high-quality bonds altogether, as these only cost like cash. That would be wrong. First-class (government) bonds have a stabilising effect on the portfolio. If the stock markets fall, they gain in value. It's a bit like football: the defenders (bonds) protect at the back so that the forwards (stocks) can score goals at the front. The more efficiently the team or portfolio is set up, the better the result.

An efficient team consisting of bonds and equities

The selection and weighting of individual stocks is therefore important: the risk characteristics - in technical jargon volatilities and correlations - of the individual stocks play a particularly important role. A risk-optimised portfolio allows a higher proportion of equities, and thus a higher return for the same risk budget. The focus on risk therefore pays off in the long term, especially when an end to the low interest rate policy is not in sight.

Would you like to find out more about the risk-optimized portfolio or how to find an efficient pension solution? Please contact us!

Zum Footer Zur Startseite

Zur Haupt-Navigation Direkt zum Inhalt

Anleihen in der Verteidigung, Aktien im Angriff

Lesedauer 10 Minuten

Ein Ende der Negativzinsen ist nicht in Sicht. Umso wichtiger ist, dass Ihr Portfolio gut aufgestellt ist und Sie ihr Risikobudget ausschöpfen.

Der Zins ist die Belohnung dafür, dass ich heute keine neuen schicken Schuhe kaufe. Das lernte man am Gymnasium. Doch warum soll ich Sparen, wenn ich mir aufgrund der Negativzinsen übermorgen bloss noch Sandalen leisten kann? Weil leider die Vorsorgewerke ebenfalls unter den Negativzinsen leiden, nebst der Demografie und dem Reformstau, sollten Sie sich trotz dem negativen Sparanreiz um ihre Vorsorge kümmern, durch den Aufbau eines überobligatorischen 1e-Vorsorgeplans oder einer dritten Säule.

Keine Rendite ohne Risiko

Fakt ist: Negativzinsen schliessen eine risikolose Rendite aus. Sogar der reine Werterhalt kostet Geld. Selbst 3a Kontolösungen werfen im Schnitt nur noch 0.275% Zins ab. Damit kommen Sie nicht weit. Eine langfristig deutlich höhere Rendite erzielen Sie, wenn Sie vermehrt in Aktien investieren.  Aber das wiederum birgt Risiken. Als erstes müssen Sie deshalb bestimmen, wie viel Risiko – also Wertschwankungen - Sie eingehen können oder möchten. Das ist ihr persönliches Risikobudget. Dieses sollten sie niemals überziehen, aber immer voll ausschöpfen.

Kein Risiko ohne Rendite

Nun scheint es nahliegend, auf hochwertige Anleihen gänzlich zu verzichten, da diese wie Bargeld nur noch kosten. Das wäre falsch. Erstklassige (Staats-)Anleihen wirken stabilisierend auf das Portfolio. «Räblet» es an den Aktienmärkten, gewinnen sie an Wert.  Es ist ein bisschen wie im Fussball: die Verteidiger (Anleihen) sichern hinten ab, damit die Stürmer (Aktien) vorne Tore erzielen können. Je effizienter die Mannschaft, bzw. das Portfolio aufgestellt ist, desto besser das Resultat.

Ein effizientes Team aus Anleihen und Aktien

Wichtig sind deshalb die Auswahl und die Gewichtung der einzelnen Aktien: dabei spielen vor allem die Risikoeigenschaften - im Fachjargon Volatilitäten und Korrelationen - der einzelnen Titel eine Rolle. Ein risikooptimiertes Portfolio erlaubt einen höheren Aktienteil, und somit mehr Rendite bei gleichem Risikobudget. Der Fokus auf das Risiko zahlt sich also langfristig aus, erst recht, als ein Ende der Tiefzinspolitik nicht in Sicht ist.

Sie möchten mehr über das risikooptimierte Portfolio erfahren bzw. wie Sie zu einer effizienten Vorsorgelösung kommen? Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Zum Footer Zur Startseite