Zur Haupt-Navigation Direkt zum Inhalt

Minimum variance and sustainable investments: a harmonious relationship

To ensure that sustainability does not come at the expense of return, investors need to improve the risk-return-efficiency of their portfolios. Risk-based strategies such as minimum variance are very well suited for this. They allow integrating strict sustainability restrictions without compromising performance.

Pecunia non olet – money does not stink [1] – is a well-known Latin saying. Can this also be said of returns? Therefore, if money does not stink, must the same apply to the return? In the context of sustainable investment, this would require that the market is always able to separate the wheat from the chaff – sustainable from unsustainable companies. One prerequisite for this is that the risks of environmentally damaging or unsocial company practices are correctly priced by the market. If all external effects are included in the price of an investment, the return has already been corrected for the sustainability effect. As a logical consequence, investors would not have to deal with the issue of sustainability and could leave it to the market. However: Are the market incentives strong enough and clear enough for listed companies worldwide to strive for virtuous behaviour?

Does the market create incentives for virtuous behaviour?

The classic financial market theory is based on the hypothesis of an (information) efficient market which is able to immediately incorporate all relevant information about a company into its stock price. Companies whose behaviour is unsustainable would thus be classified as riskier by the market: they would have to make more effort to finance themselves on the market and would be penalised with a lower valuation. That alone would be incentive enough to comply as much as possible with sustainability principles.

So what is the market exactly? It is in fact an impersonal entity which reflects only the average of all investors. However, investors are not always rational – even on average. Their behaviour is often short-sighted and driven by greed and fear.

The self-regulation function of the market is therefore questioned by supporters of behavioral finance. They doubt whether one can actually price in sustainable behaviour in a globalised financial market, especially since, as will be described in the following paragraph, there are no globally valid sustainability standards.

Not everyone understands sustainability in the same way

What does sustainable investing really mean? Despite everyone talking about it, sustainability cannot be defined by objective and universal principles. To stake out the topic one speaks today of ESG representing the three areas environment, social and governance. In their interpretation the zeitgeist along with diverse cultural, social and geographic sensibilities, play a crucial role. From slavery to child labour to pollution: practices that were once considered normal are – fortunately – no longer tolerated today. For example, smoking: Remember the legendary television debates, where gesticulating guests were barely recognisable through the cigarette smoke – from today’s perspective unthinkable! Historically, there have been very big differences in the perception and acceptance of ESG criteria and these differences are still strong today. A survey of friends about the definition of sustainability and priorities in the application of ESG principles will produce different answers. Personal values are shaped by social and societal sensibility. What is especially striking are the differences between regions, continents and cultures, which in turn influence how urgently a certain sustainability criterion is being called for from various groups of investors.

Private investors can determine their ideas regarding sustainability and its implementation in an individual investment strategy and consciously accept the costs or opportunity costs. This is immeasurably more complicated for institutional investors who, like insurance companies or pension funds, manage funds for a large number of beneficiaries on a fiduciary basis. They face several problems (at once): What is the common denominator of investors regarding ESG criteria? How restrictive should their application be and upon which ESG definition should the criteria be based? Does an ESG committee have to be called? How detailed should the ESG investment process be in the rules and regulations? How to define governance and control processes? In addition, a further question which, in view of the lower return expectation, is utterly existential: how does the consideration of ESG criteria influence performance?

Sustainability and the return issue

So far there has been no scientifically conclusive answer as to whether and how the inclusion of ESG criteria has a positive or negative effect on returns. In the last 20 years, several studies have been published, sometimes with very different results, not least because of the underlying data, methodology used and definition of ESG criteria. Simply put, two groups can be distinguished: The first one expects the integration of ESG to have a negative effect on returns. This view is supported by empirical analyses which show that sin stocks regularly outperform the market. These include companies which behave in compliance with the law, but operate in less sustainable and responsible business areas such as alcohol, tobacco, gambling and weapons. The Sin Stocks Report [2] also includes companies which attract negative attention through very aggressive sales practice – for example, in the allocation of consumer credit – or by exploitative working conditions.

The other group believes that companies guided by higher ESG standards also have better risk control, which has a long-term positive impact on returns.

According to Cliff Asness, founder of the asset management company AQR and widely recognized professional also in scientific circles, the inclusion of ESG cannot lead to a higher return because, compared to an investment process without restrictions, the investment universe is limited. Sustainable investing therefore contradicts the goal of achieving the highest possible return, or in other words: “virtue is not a free lunch” [3]. Investors who ban certain securities from the portfolio due to ESG restrictions push their price down. Underpricing induced by selling pressure increases the expected return for investors who are not concerned about ESG. This assessment is confirmed in the long-term outperformance of sin stocks. This empirical evidence seems to confirm that there is a price to pay by including ESG – a loss in return.

Is there sinful excess return?

Even though companies known as sin stocks do not cover or violate all ESG categories, their performance has been the subject of numerous scientific studies. They thus represent the longest and best-analysed data series to evaluate the implications and opportunity costs of investing sustainably in a portfolio.

A study which goes back the furthest is one which includes US equity data from the 1920s onwards. The results are unambiguous: regardless of whether aggregated or broken down into individual sins, immoral investments consistently outperform the market index [4].

A similar conclusion is reached in an extensive study by Fabozzi, Ma and Oliphant, which takes into account the performance of sin stocks from 21 countries [5]. Between 1970 and 2007, both the aggregate international sin portfolio and individual sin country portfolios clearly outperformed the market capitalised index.

In a meta-study, Dimson, Marsh and Staunton [6] identify the factors behind the above average returns of sin stocks: they can count on stable demand for their products and services, operate internationally and boast a high margin. In addition, they are shielded from competition thanks to a high market entry threshold. As soon as a majority of investors avoid these stocks for ethical reasons, this can create a buying opportunity for investors who are not concerned about ESG criteria.

Our own analysis in Figure 1 (based on the MSCI ESG database [7]) shows the performance of each MSCI ESG rating category – from AAA as the highest rating to CCC as the lowest rating – for the MSCI Equities World Index over the last ten years. The chart shows that an investment in equities from the worst and best rating categories promises an above-average return. Accordingly, a passive, market cap weighted approach to the exclusion of equities with CCC ratings would result in lower portfolio return. A difficult starting position for institutional investors with a passive investment strategy who have to integrate ESG criteria into their investment process but cannot accept performance losses!

Factor analysis provides clarity and leads to a solution

So why are sin stocks doing better? A differentiated analysis of the influence of individual factors on the equity price provides the answer – and a solution to the dilemma.

The latest findings come from a study by Fabozzi and Blitz [8] published in autumn 2017. In 2008, Fabozzi identified the excess return of sin stocks (see previous section), and now in this study the two authors drill down to their factor properties. From similar analyses, it has already been established that the sin stocks outperformance persists even when the classic factor contributions such as value, size and momentum are neutralised. Fabozzi and Blitz supplement this evaluation with three factors: low volatility, profitability and investments. Similar to the 2008 study, they use global data over 50 years and also differentiate their outcomes by region.

The result is astonishing: the outperformance of sin stocks can be fully explained by the three additional factors for almost all equity regions. Profitability and investments in particular seem to have a major impact, with profitability and low volatility (as well as minimum variance [9]) having very similar characteristics. This finally clarifies an anomaly that has been empirically proven for decades but not yet explained. Sin stocks are not more profitable because they ignore sustainability. Instead, the route cause is to be found in the deeper characteristics of these securities: sin stocks show, on average, a lower operational and financial risk, meaning on average more stable cash flow, higher profitability and lower level of debt than the market average. These very same characteristics are also found in low volatility and quality stocks.

“Sin stocks are not more profitable because they ignore sustainability, but because of their deeper characteristics.”

This is good news for sustainability-conscious investors: as a result, potential return losses in an ESG portfolio can be offset by a higher weighting of ESG-compliant companies which have exactly those characteristics, or can be classified as low volatility or quality securities.

Figure 2 shows the historical performance of the Vice Fund [10] – a well-known sin stock fund – compared to the OLZ Equity World Optimized ESG strategy and the MSCI World Index. The performance comparison shows a distinct excess return in the sin stocks compared to the MSCI World Index. It is interesting, however, that our minimum variance strategy has a comparable return considering ESG criteria. And thanks to smaller fluctuations (risk), even better performance (Sharpe Ratio) than the Vice Fund.

For this to succeed, investors must abandon traditional indexing. This applies in particular to institutional investors who have hitherto used the market cap index both as a benchmark and as a – demonstrably suboptimal – investment portfolio.

Based on the market-cap index as an investment portfolio, institutional investors do not generate lower return because they invest sustainably but because they neglect portfolio efficiency. Instead of holding a cap-weighted ESG-portfolio, it is advisable to invest in an investment portfolio that has, for example, the properties of “low volatility” or “quality” and is structured more efficiently.

High affinity between ESG and minimum variance

Similar characteristics as identified by Fabozzi and Blitz in the analysis of sin stocks are also found in risk-based strategies such as the OLZ minimum variance investment approach: lower risk goes hand in hand with higher profitability, stable cash flow and lower level of debt [11].

We tested what influence the exclusion of sin stocks and the consideration of ESG criteria according to the MSCI ESG database has on the performance for all OLZ strategies. The results confirmed our expectation: performance (risk-return profile) is not significantly altered by the inclusion of ESG restrictions. A sufficiently large universe of securities ensures that the exclusion of sin stocks, or of securities generally with unfavourable ESG criteria, does not overly restrict the degrees of freedom of our risk-based minimum variance models and thus has no impact on performance. Figure 3 illustrates this observation with a comparison of the perfor-mance of the OLZ Equity World portfolio with and without ESG restrictions.

“Institutional investors do not generate lower return because they invest sustainably but because they neglect portfolio efficiency.”

MSCI study: Trade-off between factor intensity and ESGA study by MSCI (2016) comes to a similar conclusion. It confirms that minimum variance and ESG can be combined very well [12]. The study compares several portfolios, each representing a specific factor strategy: value, size, dividend yield, momentum, quality and minimum volatility (minimum variance). For each of these strategies, the extent to which increasing the ESG score affects factor intensity is measured. Figure 4 shows how the factor exposure of each strategy changes with a gradual increase of the ESG value. The lowest influence is found in the risk-based minimum variance strategy and the quality factor, where profitability plays a central role. The value and size approaches are diluted the most by ESG.

The excellent compatibility of ESG and risk-based strategies was empirically proven by MSCI for 2016 for Swiss equity funds. The OLZ minimum variance strategy achieved the top quartile of the ranking and this before ESG criteria were even considered in the investment process.

Conclusion: Sustainable investment is possible without loss of returns

A growing number of investors are no longer prepared to accept what is true today: pecunia olet – returns stink – because the market is unable to match ESG requirements with the spirit of the times. But this is increasingly demanded by institutional investors such as insurance companies or pension funds, who manage assets on a fiduciary basis. To ensure that sustainability does not sacrifice returns, investors have to improve the efficiency of their portfolios. The discussion about sustainability and the introduction of ESG into the investment process should be used to scrutinise the existing investment approach and focus on the portfolio’s efficiency.

There is potential for improvement, in particular for passive investors who use the market-cap index both as a benchmark and as an investment strategy [13]. Only by changing the investment process to an appropriate factor strategy can they meet the demands of their clients regarding the sustainability of their investments without sacrificing returns.

In this respect, risk-based investment strategies such as minimum variance have the advantage over other factor approaches such as value, size or momentum. They enable efficient allocation of the risk budget and allow strict ESG restrictions to be met without compromising returns.

Pecunia non olet: A clean return without loss is possible. But only if the investment process is holistically optimised and trimmed to maximum efficiency.


[1] The phrase is attributed to Emperor Vespasian in response to criticism of the tannery tax which he set up on the use of urine collected (for leather tanning) from public toilet.

[2] www.sinstocksreport.com

[3] C. Asness; Virtue is its own Reward: or, one man’s ceiling is another man’s floor; AQR May 2016

[4] H. Hong, M. Kacperczyk; The price of sin: the effects of social norms on markets; Journal of Financial Economics 2009

[5] F. Fabozzi, K. Ma, B. Oliphant; Sin stocks return; Journal of Portfolio Management 2008

[6] E. Dimson, P. Marsh, M. Staunton; Responsible investing: does it pay to be bad? Credit Suisse Yearbook 2015

[7] MSCI ESG is one of the leading providers of ESG information, analyses and evaluations. MSCI ESG takes into account more than 8000 issuers, who are rated by around 150 analysts using consistent methodology.

[8] F. Fabozzi, D. Blitz; Sin stocks revisited: resolving the Sin Stock anomaly; Journal of Portfolio Management; Fall 2017

[9] The minimum variance investment approach is based on the optimised composition of low volatility stocks taking into account correlations with the aim of minimising portfolio risk.

[10] The Vice Fund is managed by USA Mutuals Advisors Inc. Fund under US law. Investments are global with an overweight in the US.

[11] OLZ Research Note (Januar 2017)

[12] D. Melas, Z. Nagy, P. Kulkarni; Factor investing and ESG integration; MSCI Research Insight November 2016

[13] Current market practice is characterised by the trend to replicate the market cap index. While such a strategy may seem convenient and practical, financial market research leaves no doubt that it is sub-optimal from a risk-return perspective. For equity investments, a selected combination of factors such as low volatility, quality, etc. leads to more efficient portfolios.


Zum Footer Zur Startseite

Minimum Varianz und Nachhaltigkeit: Eine harmonische Beziehung

Damit Nachhaltigkeit nicht auf Kosten der Rendite geht, müssen die Anleger die Risiko-Rendite-Effizienz ihrer Portfolios verbessern. Risikobasierte Strategien wie Minimum Varianz sind dafür sehr gut geeignet. Sie erlauben die Einhaltung strenger Nachhaltigkeits-Restriktionen ohne Abstriche bei der Performance.

«Pecunia non olet» – Geld stinkt nicht [1] – lautet eine berühmte lateinische Redewendung. Lässt sich diese auch auf die Rendite übertragen? Daher: wenn Geld nicht stinkt, dasselbe auch für die Rendite gelten muss? Im Kontext des nachhaltigen Investierens würde dies voraussetzen, dass der Markt jederzeit in der Lage ist, die Spreu vom Weizen bzw. nachhaltige von nicht-nachhaltigen Firmen zu trennen. Eine Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass die Risiken einer umweltschädigenden oder unsozialen Unternehmenspraxis vom Markt richtig eingepreist werden. Sind sämtliche externen Effekte im Preis einer Anlage enthalten, ist die Rendite demnach bereits um den Nachhaltigkeitseffekt korrigiert. Als logische Konsequenz müssten sich die Anleger nicht mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit auseinandersetzen und könnten es dem Markt überlassen. Doch: Sind die Marktanreize stark und deutlich genug, damit börsenkotierte Firmen weltweit ein virtuoses Verhalten anstreben?

Schafft der Markt Anreize für virtuoses Verhalten?

Die klassische Finanzmarkttheorie basiert auf der Hypothese des (Informations-)effizienten Marktes, der fähig ist, alle relevanten Informationen über eine Firma umgehend in deren Aktienpreis einfliessen zu lassen. Firmen, deren Verhalten nicht nachhaltig ist, würden demnach vom Markt als riskanter eingestuft: Sie müssten mehr Mühe bekunden, sich am Markt zu finanzieren und würden mit einer tieferen Bewertung abgestraft. Das allein wäre Anreiz genug, die Nachhaltigkeitsprinzipien tunlichst einzuhalten.

Doch was ist überhaupt «der Markt»? De facto ist er eine unpersönliche Entität, welche bloss den Durchschnitt aller Anleger wiedergibt. Doch selbst im Durchschnitt verhalten sich die Anleger nicht immer rational. Ihr Verhalten ist häufig kurzsichtig sowie von Gier und Angst getrieben.

Die Selbstregulierungsfunktion des Marktes wird deshalb von den Vertretern der Behavioral Finance hinterfragt. Sie bezweifeln, ob nachhaltiges Verhalten in einem globalisierten Finanzmarkt überhaupt eingepreist werden kann, zumal es, wie im nächsten Absatz beschrieben wird, keine global gültigen Nachhaltigkeitsstandards gibt. Nicht alle verstehen unter Nachhaltigkeit dasselbeWas bedeutet eigentlich nachhaltiges Anlegen? Obwohl in aller Munde, lässt sich Nachhaltigkeit nicht mit objektiven und allgemeingültigen Prinzipien definieren. Um das Themenfeld abzustecken, spricht man heute von ESG-Kriterien (engl. ESG für Environmental, Social und Governance) für die drei Bereiche Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung. In deren Interpretation spielen der Zeitgeist, wie auch unterschiedliche kulturelle, soziale und geografische Sensibilitäten eine entscheidende Rolle. Von Sklaverei über Kinderarbeit bis hin zur Umweltverschmutzung: Praktiken, die einst als normal galten, werden heute – zum Glück – nicht mehr toleriert. Zum Beispiel das Rauchen: Man erinnere sich an die legendären Fernsehdebatten, wo die gestikulierenden Gäste vor lauter Zigarettenrauch kaum mehr zu erkennen waren – aus heutiger Sicht undenkbar! Die Unterschiede bezüglich der Wahrnehmung und der Akzeptanz von ESG-Kriterien sind historisch betrachtet sehr gross und bestehen auch heute noch. Eine Umfrage im Freundeskreis über die Definition von Nachhaltigkeit und die Prioritäten bei der Anwendung von ESG-Prinzipien bringt unterschiedliche Antworten hervor. Die persönlichen Werte sind geprägt vom sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Umfeld. Besonders markant sind die Differenzen zwischen verschiedenen Regionen, Kontinenten und Kulturen, was wiederum beeinflusst, wie dringlich ein bestimmtes Nachhaltigkeitskriterium von verschiedenen Anlegergruppen eingefordert wird.

Privatanleger können ihre Vorstellungen bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit und deren Umsetzung in einer Anlagestrategie individuell definieren und deren Kosten oder Opportunitätskosten bewusst in Kauf nehmen. Ungleich komplizierter ist dies für institutionelle Anleger, die wie Versicherungen oder Vorsorgeeinrichtungen Gelder für eine grosse Anzahl Berechtigte treuhänderisch verwalten. Ihnen stellen sich gleich mehrere Probleme: Welches ist der gemeinsame Nenner der Anleger bezüglich ESG-Kriterien? Wie restriktiv soll deren Anwendung sein und auf welcher ESG-Definition soll sie basieren? Muss ein ESG-Komitee einberufen werden? Wie detailliert soll der ESG-Anlageprozess in den Statuten und Reglementen festgehalten werden? Wie sind Governance- und Kontrollprozesse festzulegen? Hinzu kommt eine weitere und angesichts des Renditenotstandes geradezu existenzielle Frage: Wie beeinflusst die Berücksichtigung von ESG-Kriterien die Performance?

Nachhaltigkeit und die Renditefrage

Es gibt bislang keine wissenschaftlich schlüssige Antwort, ob und wie der Einbezug von ESG-Kriterien die Rendite positiv oder negativ beeinflusst. In den letzten 20 Jahren erschienen mehrere Studien mit teilweise sehr unterschiedlichen Resultaten, was nicht zuletzt an den jeweils zugrundeliegenden Daten sowie der angewendeten Methodologie und Definition von ESG-Kriterien liegt. Vereinfachend lassen sich zwei Gruppen unterscheiden: Das erste Lager erwartet einen negativen Effekt der Integration von ESG auf die Rendite. Diese Sichtweise wird gestützt durch empirische Analysen, die zeigen, dass sogenannte «Sin Stocks» regelmässig den Markt übertreffen. Dazu zählen Firmen, die sich zwar gesetzeskonform verhalten, jedoch in wenig nachhaltigen Geschäftsbereichen wie Alkohol, Tabak, Glücksspiele und Waffen tätig sind. Der Sin Stocks Report [2] zählt auch Unternehmen dazu, die durch eine sehr aggressive Verkaufspraxis – beispielsweise bei der Vergabe von Konsumkrediten – oder durch ausbeuterische Arbeitsverhältnisse negativ auffallen.

Die andere Gruppe ist der Meinung, dass Unternehmen, welche sich an höheren ESG-Standards orientieren, auch eine bessere Risikokontrolle haben, was sich langfristig positiv auf die Rendite auswirkt. Diese Ansicht hat erst in den letzten Jahren Zulauf gefunden. Gemäss Cliff Asness, dem Gründer der auch in wissenschaftlichen Kreisen anerkannten Vermögensverwaltungsfirma AQR, kann der Einbezug von ESG nicht zu einer höheren Rendite führen. Dies weil im Vergleich zu einem Anlageprozess ohne Restriktionen das Anlageuniversum eingeschränkt wird. Nachhaltig investieren stehe deshalb im Widerspruch zum Ziel, eine möglichst hohe Rendite zu erzielen, oder anders gesagt: «Virtue is not a free lunch» [3]. Anleger, die bestimmte Titel aufgrund von ESG-Restriktionen aus dem Portfolio verbannen, drücken deren Preis nach unten. Die durch den Verkaufsdruck induzierte Unterbewertung der Titel erhöht die erwartete Rendite für die Anleger, welche sich nicht um ESG kümmern. Bestätigung findet diese Einschätzung in der langjährigen Outperformance von Sin Stocks. Diese empirische Evidenz scheint zu bestätigen, dass der Einbezug von ESG einen Preis hat in Form einer Renditeeinbusse.

Gibt es eine «sündhafte» Mehrrendite?

Auch wenn die als Sin Stocks bezeichneten Unternehmen nicht alle ESG-Kategorien abdecken respektive verletzen, ist die Performance von Sin Stocks Gegenstand zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Untersuchungen. Damit bilden sie die längste und am besten analysierte Datenreihe, um die Implikationen und Opportunitätskosten des nachhaltigen Anlegens auf ein Portfolio zu evaluieren.

Am weitesten zurück geht eine Studie mit US-Aktiendaten ab den 1920er Jahren. Die Resultate sind eindeutig: Egal ob aggregiert oder nach einzelnen «Sünden» aufgegliedert, die lasterhaften Anlagen schneiden durchwegs besser ab als der Marktindex [4].

Zu einem ähnlichen Schluss kommt eine umfangreiche Studie von Fabozzi, Ma und Oliphant, welche die Performance von Sin Stocks aus 21 Ländern berücksichtigt [5]. Zwischen 1970 und 2007 übertrafen sowohl das aggregierte internationale Sin-Portfolio als auch die einzelnen Sin-Länderportfolios den marktkapitalisierten Index deutlich. Dimson, Marsh und Staunton [6] identifizieren in einer Metastudie die Faktoren für die überdurchschnittliche Rendite von Sin Stocks: Diese können auf eine stabile Nachfrage nach ihren Produkten und Dienstleistungen zählen, sind international tätig und weisen eine hohe Marge auf. Zudem werden sie dank einer hohen Markteintrittsschwelle vor Konkurrenz abgeschirmt. Sobald eine Mehrheit der Anleger diese Titel aus ethischen Überlegungen meidet, kann dies eine Kaufgelegenheit für Anleger schaffen, die sich nicht um ESG-Kriterien kümmern. Unsere eigene Analyse in Abbildung 1 (basierend auf der MSCI ESG-Datenbank [7]) zeigt die Performance der einzelnen MSCI ESG-Ratingkategorien – von «AAA» als höchstes Rating bis «CCC» als tiefstes Rating – für den MSCI Aktien Welt Index über die letzten zehn Jahre. Gemäss der Grafik verspricht eine Investition in Aktien aus der schlechtesten und der besten Ratingkategorie eine überdurchschnittliche Rendite. Demgemäss würde ein passiver, nach Marktkapitalisierung gewichteter Ansatz bei der Exklusion der Aktien mit einem «CCC»-Ratings zu einer tieferen Portfoliorendite führen. Eine schwierige Ausgangslage für institutionelle Anleger mit einer passiven Anlagestrategie, die ESG-Kriterien in Ihren Anlageprozess integrieren müssen, jedoch keine Performanceeinbusse hinnehmen dürfen!

Faktoranalyse schafft Klarheit und führt zur Lösung

Doch warum schneiden Sin Stocks besser ab? Eine differenzierte Analyse des Einflusses einzelner Faktoren auf den Aktienpreis liefert die Antwort – und eine Lösung für das Dilemma.

Die neusten Erkenntnisse stammen aus der im Herbst 2017 publizierten Studie von Fabozzi und Blitz [8]. Nachdem Fabozzi bereits 2008 die Mehrrendite von Sin Stocks identifizierte (vgl. vorheriger Abschnitt), gehen die beiden Autoren nun den Faktoreigenschaften der Sin Stocks auf den Grund. Aus ähnlichen Analysen ist bereits bekannt, dass eine Mehrrendite der Sin Stocks selbst dann noch Bestand hat, wenn die klassischen Faktorbeiträge wie Value, Size und Momentum neutralisiert werden. Fabozzi und Blitz ergänzen diese Auswertung um drei Faktoren: Low Volatility, Profitabilität und Investments. Analog zur Studie von 2008 verwenden sie globale Daten über 50 Jahre und differenzieren ihre Resultate auch nach Regionen. Das Resultat verblüfft: Die Outperformance der Sin Stocks lässt sich für nahezu alle Aktienregionen vollständig durch die drei zusätzlichen Faktoren erklären. Insbesondere Profitabilität und Investments scheinen einen grossen Einfluss zu haben, wobei Profitabilität und Low Volatility (sowie Minimum Varianz [9]) sehr ähnliche Eigenschaften aufweisen. Dies schafft endlich Klarheit über eine Anomalie, die seit Jahrzehnten zwar empirisch nachgewiesen, aber bislang nicht erklärbar war. Sin Stocks rentieren nicht deshalb besser, weil sie sich um die Nachhaltigkeit foutieren. Die Ursache ist vielmehr in den tieferliegenden Eigenschaften dieser Titel zu suchen: Sin Stocks weisen im Durchschnitt ein tieferes operatives und finanzielles Risiko aus, d. h. im Mittel einen stabileren Cash-Flow, eine höhere Profitabilität und eine tiefere Verschuldung als der Marktdurchschnitt. Genau diese Eigenschaften finden sich auch bei Low Volatility und Quality Titeln.

«Sin Stocks rentieren nicht besser, weil sie sich um Nachhaltigkeit foutieren, sondern wegen ihrer tieferliegenden Eigenschaften.»

Das sind «Good News» für nachhaltigkeitsbewusste Anleger: Demzufolge können potenzielle Renditeeinbussen in einem ESG-Portfolio durch ein höheres Gewicht von ESG-konformen Firmen wettgemacht werden, die genau diese Eigenschaften aufweisen bzw. als Low Volatility oder Quality Titel einzuordnen sind.

Abbildung 2 zeigt die historische Performance des Vice Fund [10], eines bekannten Sin-Stock-Fonds, im Vergleich zur OLZ Equity World Optimized ESG Strategie sowie zum MSCI World Index. Der Performancevergleich zeigt eine deutliche Mehrrendite der Sin Stocks gegenüber dem MSCI World Index. Interessant ist jedoch, dass unsere Minimum-Varianz-Strategie unter Berücksichtigung von ESG-Kriterien eine vergleichbare Rendite aufweist. Und dank der kleineren Schwankungen (Risiko) sogar eine bessere Performance (Sharpe-Ratio) als der Vice Fund aufweist.

Damit dies gelingt, müssen sich die Anleger jedoch vom klassischen Indexieren verabschieden. Dies gilt insbesondere für institutionelle Anleger, die den marktkapitalisierten Index bislang sowohl als Benchmark, wie auch als – erwiesenermassen suboptimales – Anlageportfolio einsetzen.

Ausgehend vom marktkapitalisierten Index als Anlageportfolio entstehen den institutionellen Anlegern tiefere Renditen nicht, weil sie nachhaltig investieren, sondern weil sie die Portfolio-Effizienz vernachlässigen. Anstatt ein kapitalgewichtetes ESG-Portfolio zu halten, empfiehlt es sich in ein Portfolio zu investieren, welches beispielsweise die Eigenschaften von «Low Volatility» oder «Quality» aufweist und effizienter strukturiert ist.

Hohe Affinität zwischen ESG und Minimum Varianz

Ähnliche Eigenschaften wie sie Fabozzi und Blitz bei der Analyse der Sin Stocks identifiziert haben, finden sich auch in risikobasierten Strategien wie dem OLZ Minimum-Varianz-Anlageansatz: Ein tieferes Risiko geht einher mit einer höheren Profitabilität, einem stabilen Cash-Flow und einer tieferen Verschuldung [11]. Wir haben für alle OLZ Strategien getestet, welchen Einfluss der Ausschluss von Sin Stocks bzw. die Berücksichtigung von ESG-Kriterien gemäss MSCI ESG-Datenbank auf die Performance hat. Die Resultate haben unsere Erwartung bestätigt: Die Performance (Risiko-Rendite-Profil) wird durch den Einbezug von ESG-Restriktionen nicht signifikant verändert. Ein genügend grosses Titeluniversum stellt sicher, dass der Ausschluss von Sin Stocks, oder generell von Titeln mit ungünstigen ESG-Kriterien, die Freiheitsgrade unserer risikobasierten Minimum-Varianz-Modelle nicht allzu stark beschränkt und somit keinen Einfluss auf die Performance hat. Abbildung 3 verdeutlicht diese Beobachtung mit einem Vergleich der Performance des OLZ Aktien Welt Portfolios mit und ohne ESG-Restriktionen.

«Tiefere Renditen entstehen institutionellen Anlegern nicht, weil sie nachhaltig investieren, sondern weil sie die Portfolio-Effizienz vernachlässigen.»
MSCI-Studie: Tradeoff zwischen Faktorintensität und ESG

Zu einem ähnlichen Schluss kommt eine Studie von MSCI (2016). Sie bestätigt, dass sich Minimum Varianz und ESG sehr gut kombinieren lassen [12]. Die Studie vergleicht mehrere Portfolios, die jeweils eine bestimmte Faktor-Strategie abbilden: Value, Size, Dividend Yield, Momentum, Quality und Minimum Volatility (Minimum Varianz). Für jede dieser Strategien wird gemessen, wie eine Erhöhung des ESG-Score die Faktorintensität beeinflusst. Abbildung 4 zeigt, wie sich das Faktor-Exposure der jeweiligen Strategie bei einer graduellen Erhöhung des ESG-Wertes verändert. Der geringste Einfluss findet sich bei der risikobasierten Strategie Minimum Varianz und dem Quality-Faktor, bei dem die Profitabilität eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Der Value- und Size-Ansatz wird durch ESG am stärksten verwässert. Die sehr gute Vereinbarkeit von ESG und risikobasierten Strategien belegte MSCI per 2016 empirisch auch für Schweizer Aktienfonds. Die OLZ Minimum-Varianz-Strategie landete dabei im obersten Quartil des Rankings – dies wohlbemerkt bevor ESG-Kriterien überhaupt im Anlageprozess berücksichtigt wurden.

Fazit: Nachhaltig investieren ist auch ohne Renditeeinbusse möglich

Eine wachsende Anzahl Anleger ist nicht mehr bereit zu akzeptieren, was heute gilt: «Pecunia olet» – Rendite stinkt, weil der Markt nicht in der Lage ist, die ESG-Anforderungen dem Zeitgeist entsprechend abzubilden. Doch genau dies wird von institutionellen Anlegern wie Versicherungen oder Pensionskassen, die Vermögen treuhänderisch verwalten, zunehmend gefordert. Damit Nachhaltigkeit nicht auf Kosten der Rendite geht, müssen die Investoren die Effizienz ihrer Portfolios verbessern. Die Diskussion um Nachhaltigkeit respektive die Einführung von ESG-Restriktionen in den Anlageprozess sollte dazu genutzt werden, den bisherigen Anlageansatz kritisch zu hinterfragen und die Effizienz des Portfolios ins Zentrum zu rücken.

Verbesserungspotenzial gibt es insbesondere bei passiven Anlegern, die den marktkapitalisierten Index sowohl als Benchmark wie auch als Anlagestrategie [13] benutzen. Nur mit einer Umstellung des Anlageprozesses hin zu einer entsprechenden Faktorstrategie können sie den Anforderungen ihrer Kunden bezüglich der Nachhaltigkeit ihrer Anlagen gerecht werden, ohne dafür Rendite zu opfern.

Risikobasierte Anlagestrategien wie Minimum Varianz sind diesbezüglich im Vorteil gegenüber anderen Faktoransätzen wie Value, Size oder Momentum. Sie ermöglichen eine effiziente Allokation des Risikobudgets und erlauben die Einhaltung strenger ESG-Restriktionen ohne Abstriche bei der Rendite. «Pecunia non olet»: Eine saubere Rendite ohne Einbusse ist möglich. Aber nur, wenn der Anlageprozess gesamtheitlich optimiert und auf maximale Effizienz getrimmt wird.


[1] Die Redewendung wird Kaiser Vespasian zugewiesen, als Antwort auf die Kritik an der Gerbersteuer auf die Nutzung des gesammelten Urins (für die Ledergerbung) aus den von ihm eingerichteten öffentlichen WC.

[2] www.sinstocksreport.com

[3] C. Asness; Virtue is its own Reward: or, one man’s ceiling is another man’s floor; AQR May 2016

[4] H. Hong, M. Kacperczyk; The price of sin: the effects of social norms on markets; Journal of Financial Economics 2009

[5] F. Fabozzi, K. Ma, B. Oliphant; Sin stocks return; Journal of Portfolio Management 2008

[6] E. Dimson, P. Marsh, M. Staunton; Responsible investing: does it pay to be bad? Credit Suisse Yearbook 2015

[7] MSCI ESG ist einer der führenden Anbieter von ESG-Informationen, Analysen und Auswertungen. MSCI ESG berücksichtigt mehr als 8000 Emittenten, die von rund 150 Analysten mit einer einheitlichen Methodologie bewertet werden.

[8] F. Fabozzi, D. Blitz; Sin stocks revisited: resolving the Sin Stock anomaly; Journal of Portfolio Management; Fall 2017

[9] Der Anlageansatz Minimum Varianz basiert auf der optimierten Zusammensetzung von Low Volatility Aktien unter Berücksichtigung der Korrelationen mit dem Ziel Minimierung des Portfoliorisikos.

[10] Der Vice Fund ist ein von USA Mutuals Advisors Inc. verwalteter Fonds nach amerikanischem Recht. Die Investitionen erfolgen weltweit mit einer Übergewichtung in den USA.

[11] OLZ Research Note (Januar 2017)

[12] D. Melas, Z. Nagy, P. Kulkarni; Factor investing and ESG integration; MSCI Research Insight November 2016

[13] Die aktuelle Marktpraxis ist charakterisiert vom Trend zur Replikation des marktkapitalisierten Index. Auch wenn eine solche Strategie günstig und praktisch erscheint, lässt die Finanzmarktforschung keine Zweifel aufkommen, dass sie aus Risiko-Rendite-Perspektive suboptimal ist. Für Aktienanlagen führt eine ausgewählte Kombination von Faktoren wie Low Volatility, Quality, etc. zu effizienteren Portfolios.